Tuition Fees

EU/EEA Citizens

Students from EU/EEA member states are exempt from tuition fees for the minimum duration of the degree program plus two additional semesters (8 semesters, in case of Doctoral Programmes). Thus, for the first 8 semesters you only have to pay the students' union fee (in the amount of 19.2€). After the eight semester, you have to pay the tuition fee (363.36 €), plus the students' union.

Opens external link in new windowTuition fees at the University of Vienna

The fees have to be be paid every semester, latest at the end of the extended admission period (30 April/30 November). You can find the amounts in your u:space account by clicking on > Studies > Study Overview.

Opens external link in new windowTuition fees at the Medical University of Vienna

Tuition and Students Union fees shall be paid in full during the admission period. If this does not take place, no admission to or deregistration from studies is carried out. 

The data required for payment of contributions are provided to students in their MedCampus account. 

Tuition charges may also be paid directly in the Studies and Examinations Department using a bank card (Maestro card).

Non-EU Citizens

From the summer semester of 2018 onwards, students who are citizens of a non-EU/EEA country pay a fee of 726.72 Euro plus the students' union fee per semester. 

Most students of the VBC PhD Programme may apply for an "Equal status with EU/EEA citizens", since they have a researchers' visa.

More information on Tuition fees for the University of Vienna Opens external link in new windowhere

Similar exemptions also apply for students registered with the Medical University of Vienna (Opens external link in new windowmore information here).

Refund of Tuition Fees

All students that are recruited through the VBC PhD programme will have their tuition fees refunded by the respective institute in the event of them having to pay any fees.